Hippocrates Initiative

Hippocrates SocietyHealthy Heart PoetryCoull Quartet evening on 15th May in support of childhood cancer charity CLIC-Sargent2017: 6th May - Hippocrates Awards Symposiumhippocrates_prize_logo_med2014 judges Philip Gross, Robert Francis QC, Sarah Crown2013 judges Theodore Dalrymple, Jo Shapcott, Roger Highfield2013 Young Poets judge: Clare Pollard2010 judges James Naughtie, Dannie Abse, Sir Bruce Keogh2011 judges: Mark Lawson, Gwyneth Lewis, Steve Field2012 judges Martha Kearney, Marilyn Hacker, Rod Flower2012 NHS Winner Nick MacKinnon readingAbout us2016 judges: Rafael Campo, Wendy French, Gareth Powell, Sian Hughes2015 judges: Theodore Dalrymple, Femi Oyebode, Simon Rae2016 Shortlist: Chris Woods, Anne Ryland, Denise Bundred, Jane McLaughlin, Karen Schofield


Entries for the 2017 international Hippocrates Open, Health Professional and Young Poet awards are now closed. Short-listed and commended entrants will be informed in early April.

The 2017 Hippocrates Awards are being organised by the Hippocrates Initiative in partnership with the Arts and Humanities Initiative of Harvard Medical School.

A&H logo final.jpg

The 2017 Hippocrates Poetry and Medicine Symposium and Awards will be held on Saturday 6th May 2017 at Harvard Medical School in Boston, USA. There will be a pre-Symposium Poetry Workshop at the Boston Museum of Fine Art on the evening of Friday 5th May 2017.

Download flyer for Symposium, Hippocrates Awards, and pre-Symposium Poetry Workshop

The Hippocrates awards comprise

– the Young Poets Prize and commendations

– the Open Award with a 1st, 2nd and 3rd Prize and 20 commendations

– the Health Professional Award for Health Professional-related staff and Health Professional students from anywhere in the world: a 1st, 2nd and 3rd Prize and 20 commendations

Judges for 2017 International Open and Health Professional AwardsNeal Baer, Harvard-trained American paediatrician and producer of ER; Pulitzer-Prize winning poet Jorie Graham; Jackie Kay, Scottish Makar (National Poet Laureate; and Professor Owen Lewis, New York, USA (see details below). The 2017 Hippocrates Young Poets Judge will be judged by poet Maya Catherine Popa, New York City, USA.

Young Poets Judge for 2017: Maya C Popa, New York, USA

Awards date: Saturday 6th May 2017 at Harvard Medical School, Cambridge MA, USA


The Hippocrates awards comprises the Young Poets Prize, a 1st, 2nd and 3rd Prize and 20 commendations in each of the Open and NHS categories and further commendations in the Young Poets Award. In its first 6 years, the Hippocrates Prize has attracted over 7000 entries from 61 countries, from the Americas to Fiji and Finland to Australasia. 

The winning poems and commendations in Hippocrates Open, NHS and Young Poets Awards will be published in the annual Hippocrates Prize Anthology.

With a prize fund of £500 for the Young Poets Award and £5500 for winning poems in the Open International category and NHS category, the Hippocrates Prize is one of the highest value poetry awards in the world for a single poem. 


The Hippocrates Awards are in three categories:

- a £1000 first prize, £500 second prize and £250 third prize in the Open category, which anyone in the world may enter;

a £1000 first prize, £500 second prize and £250 third prize in the Health Professional category, which is open to Health Service employees, health students and those working in professional organisations anywhere in the world involved in education and training of health professional students and staff;

- a £500 prize for the Young Poets category in the international Hippocrates Prize for an unpublished poem in English on a medical theme. Entries are open to young poets from anywhere in the world aged 14 to 18 years.


 © Hippocrates initiative 2012: hippocrates.poetry@gmail.com